inspirational parent: kylie lesueur

I have been on a lot of travels in my time.  They all started when I was 22 and I went to the USA to work in a kids summer camp…it was the best thing I ever did!  I made a tonne of friends, whom I still cherish to this day 13 years later.  Amazing,  This beautiful mama is one of those friends.  We were joined at the hip throughout our summer, those were the days!IMG_3867

Kylie is now a wonderful mama to two little gorgeous babes, and although she says she is a stay at home mum, she really is a little entrepreneur with her groovy Indi + Hix company, making hair accessories and bibs trendy.IMG_3864

I love how Kylie has embraced health and wellness in their lives, and truly believes in nourishing herself so she can be the best for her family.  The best health, the best role model and the best example of taking care of herself.

How old is your child?

India-Rose is 2.3 years old and Hendrix is 6 months

 

What is your food philosophy for your child?

Our family philosophy is clean, fresh nourishing food. Plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables and whole grains. We stick to 80/20 and everything in moderation.

What inspires you to feed your child the way you do?

Having a daughter was my initial inspiration. I want her to have a good association with food, health and body image (something I didn’t have growing up). Going back to basics on nutrition and fuelling our bodies with nutritious, colourful foods to make us feel and look good. I also took on my own mission for better health after becoming a mum. When Hendrix was born I was a mum to 2 under 2. Not feeling great wasn’t an option for me. More than ever I needed to eat clean nutritious food to ensure I had the daily energy and stamina to keep up.

What tips have you got for travelling families?

Lots of snacks to keep the little ones content

What are your 3 top snacks?

Bliss balls (Indi thinks they are a treat)

Wholemeal pita bread crackers (olive oil and Himalayan salt)

Coconut chips, seeds, nuts, dried fruit mix

 

How do you look after yourself as well as your child?

This one is a little tricky. I’m guilty of absorbing myself into mummy life and forgetting about myself. My new years resolution was to find more balance. I do yoga once a week; try to get to the gym. I love sewing. I find it relaxing and therapeutic

What brings balance to your family?

The simple things. Story time at night. Eating dinner as a family. A walk to the park together.

 

What is your favourite activity to do together as a family?

Camping. We have a caravan so try to get away as often as we can. Technology gets turned off and it’s all about reconnecting.

 

Do you have a favourite inspirational quote that lights up your life?

Be kind to unkind people. They need it the most.

IMG_3865

Be sure to check out Kylie on Instagram and FB too for her wonderful collection

https://www.facebook.com/indiandhix?fref=ts

http://indihix.bigcartel.com/

Leave a comment